Railfleet is designed to be a collaborative platform, allowing you to effortlessly communicate and cooperate with your partners (operators, lessors, ECM,...) on your fleet operations. With Railfleet, fleet managers can send defect reports and dispatch online maintenance work orders to their own or external maintenance teams for instance. Railfleet user roles and permissions have been defined in order to meet this collaboration requirement, without putting data integrity at stake.
Roles and associated permissions
As a company admin you can easily create new Railfleet users within your company, and modify their settings later on. Detailed steps on how to create a new account for someone else can be found here.
When creating a new account, you will need to select a role for the user. The role you assign to the user will determine the permissions that will be granted to the user in Railfleet.
Users can also create their own account. The article Creating a new user explains how. When a user creates his/her own account using this feature, the default role assigned to the account will be the role of Agent.
Below you can see which permissions are associated to the standard Railfleet roles:
The "Notifications only" role is a role without any permissions. This is to give you the possibility to add users to notifications without giving them any access to Railfleet.
Note that every action is logged and can easily be undone, which gives you the opportunity to collaborate with your partners in full transparency and without risk. This, in turn, empowers you and you coworkers to take full advantage of Railfleet!
To further optimise your fleet operations you can share assets with clients or partner companies. A detailed description of how to share assets can be found here.
When creating a new sharing in Railfleet, you have the possibility to choose the permissions (delegation) you wish to give to the company for the assets that are shared with them. The chosen delegation defines which specific actions people are able to perform. The standard delegations are:
- read_write_dashboard: no additional limitations outside of the limitations of the users's role
- read_write_dashboard_cannot_change_asset_status: the users of the company you are sharing locomotives with can not modify an asset's operational status
- read_only_dashboard: the users of the company you are sharing locomotives with have limited (read only) access to the operational dashboard